Formerly known as the iconic Bryn Mawr Hotel, The Baldwin welcomes your guests with magnificent period style, deeply set windows, several wood burning fireplaces and a sweeping veranda. Cascading grand staircases provide both a spectacular entrance and a classic area for beautiful photographs.
The Bryn Mawr Hotel
After the Civil War, Bryn Mawr was a popular spot for Philadelphians to come to escape the summer heat. Of the many hotels and boarding houses in Bryn Mawr, the one that aided most in its development was the Bryn Mawr Hotel or Keystone Hotel, as it was also known, built in 1871. This grand summer resort was constructed by the Pennsylvania Railroad, and was located in the countryside just north of the station. The four-story masonry building was designed by Joseph Miller Wilson. Tragically, this splendor was destroyed by a disastrous fire which broke out in October 11, 1887.
Rebuilt in 1890
A second Bryn Mawr Hotel was built on the site in 1890 by a neighborhood syndicate. This new, four-story, granite structure was designed by acclaimed architect Frank Furness, of Furness, Evans & Co. The Hotel was inspired by the Chateau de Pierrefonds, a 16th century French chateau, and contained the latest technologies, including steam heat and electric light. From 1896 to 1913 the hotel hosted its own annual horse show that drew high society Philadelphians.
Later the building was bought by the Baldwin School for Girls. The Baldwin School remains an independent school for girls from pre-kindergarten through grade 12.